2010 Helpmann Awards entertain at Sydney Opera House

The 2010 Helpmann Awards, presented on Monday at the Opera Theatre, Sydney Opera House, kept theatre and live performance fans entertained and tuned into FOXTEL as their favourite performers and shows were recognised in 42 award categories.

The 2010 Helpmann Awards, presented on Monday (6 September) at the Opera Theatre, Sydney Opera House, kept theatre and live performance fans entertained and tuned into FOXTEL as their favourite performers and shows were recognised in 42 award categories.

Broadcast live to television on FOXTEL’s STVDIO channel , the Awards have been running since 2001, established by Live Performance Australia (LPA). Awards were presented in 42 categories including  additional recognition for Tony Gould AM and Brian Nebenzahl OAM RFD were honoured as the recipients of the prestigious JC Williamson Award that recognises their outstanding contribution to the Australian live performance industry.

Winner of Best Cabaret Performer, iOTA, was also recognised for the performance in Smoke and Mirrors

David Campbell was host of the Awards Ceremony and sang two numbers during the evening. The Ceremony included performances by the casts of Jersey Boys, Avenue Q, The Wizard Of Oz, The Drowsy Chaperone, West Side Story, Bangarra Dance Theatre, Smoke & Mirrors featuring iOTA, The Australia String Quartet, The Man In Black and the cast of Mary Poppins.

Award Presenters, all past winners of a Helpmann Award, included Kelley Abbey, David Atkins, Sandra Bates, John Bell, Cate Blanchett, Bille Brown, Mitchell Butel, David Campbell, Zoe Carides, Peter Carroll, Kate Champion, Tim Chappel, Adrian Collette, Chloe Dallimore, Marta Dusseldorp, Peter England, John Gaden, Lizzy Gardiner, Lisa Gasteen, Darren Gilshenan, Robert Grubb, Burhan Güner, Jane Harders, Amanda Harrison, Nancye Hayes, Steven Heathcote, Lindy Hume, iOTA, Shane Jacobson, Lana Jones, Elena Kats-Chernin, Ewen Leslie, Julie Lynch, Danielle Matthews, Emma Matthews, David McAllister, Belinda McClory, Donald McDonald , Todd McKenney, Sharon Millerchip, Richard Mills, Amanda Muggleton, David Page, Stephen Page, Marion Potts, Hannie Rayson, Nick Schlieper, Terry Serio, Garry Stewart, Teddy Tahu Rhodes, David Williamson, Ben Winspear, The Umbilical Brothers and Ursula Yovich.

The glamourous event saw award recipients and presenters arrive in traditional red carpet fashion.

Some winners included, Avenue Q., A Streetcar Named Desire, Pink’s Funhouse Tour, Big Day Out Music Festival, Bangarra Dance Theatre, Sydney Festival ‘Festival First Night’, Smoke and Mirrors, Jersey Boys, iOTA, Opera Australia, and numerous others.

The Awards Ceremony was produced by Jon Nicholls and directed by Stuart Maunder. 

“We’re delighted to be presenting our 10th anniversary Helpmann Awards live from the Sydney Opera House,” said president of Live Performance Australia, Andrew Kay.

“Live performance engages and entertains audiences across the breadth of Australia from the smallest rural community to the largest city. And the strength of the industry is evidenced in the extraordinary list of outstanding Helpmann nominees we honour tonight.”

“This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Helpmann Awards and the second year the NSW Government has supported the event through Events NSW,” said NSW Minister  for the Arts, Virginia Judge.

“Our investment reinforces the NSW Government’s ongoing commitment to the creative industries. We helped move the event to the iconic Sydney Opera House to reflect the stature and prestige of the Helpmanns,” she said. 

Following the Awards Ceremony guests enjoyed an After Party at The Argyle in The Rocks.


Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required


Sign up now

Join our mailing list to keep up to date with the latest event industry news direct to your inbox

The A-Z guide for organising events