‘Come up to Queensland’: Borders set to reopen between NSW & QLD

It comes as more border restrictions ease across Australia.

Queensland will reopen to all of New South Wales (NSW) from Monday, as states across the country relax their borders further.

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said authorities were working overtime to ensure a smooth border re-opening from 1am on Monday, 1 February.

“It has been a really, really long haul and it has been tough on everybody, but I have always maintained I’ve got to keep Queenslanders safe,” she said.

“Now that the chief health officer has recommended it’s safe for Greater Sydney residents to come to Queensland, the borders can come down.”

She said Queensland is “good to go” and encouraged New South Wales residents to visit from next week.

“I want to encourage anyone in New South Wales who is thinking about having a holiday, come up to Queensland.”

Border restrictions ease across Australia

It comes as several states also relax their border restrictions.

Announced today, South Australia will remove its border with Greater Sydney from 12:01am on Sunday 31 January.

While there is no requirement to quarantine, travellers who have been in Sydney, Wollongong or the Central Coast will need to submit a test for COVID-19 on day one, five and 12. They will then be required to isolate until their day one test returns a negative result.

Meanwhile, Victoria is continuing its traffic light permit system, requiring all travellers to apply for a permit to enter.

Only one local government area (LGA) remains a red zone – Cumberland Council in NSW – meaning travellers from that area cannot enter.

For Western Australia, travellers from Victoria, NSW and Queensland are deemed low risk, meaning they can enter the state but are subject to 14 days of self-quarantine and COVID-19 testing. All other states and territories are deemed very low risk.

In the ACT, the Cumberland in NSW is the only remaining LGA considered a COVID-19 affected area. Travellers from that area can only enter with an exemption.

In the Northern Territory, a number of NSW LGAs are still considered hotspots, including Blacktown, Cumberland, Fairfield, Inner West, Parramatta and more. Travellers from these areas are asked to cancel travel plans or must quarantine on arrival.

Tasmania has declared 10 LGAs in the Greater Sydney Region as medium-risk areas, requiring travellers from those areas to enter quarantine on arrival.

New South Wales is open to all interstate travellers.

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required


Sign up now

Join our mailing list to keep up to date with the latest event industry news direct to your inbox

The A-Z guide for organising events