We will rock you opens tonight

Ben Elton's smash hit musical opens at Sydney Lyric Theatre tonight.

WE WILL ROCK YOU finale (c)Jeff Busby

Ben Elton’s smash hit musical opens at Sydney Lyric Theatre tonight.

Attending opening night will be producer John Frost, director Ben Elton, singers including Jessica Mauboy, (Little) Patti Amphlett, Doug Parkinson and John Paul Young, television stars Scott Cam, Danielle Cormack, Jonothan Coleman and Sarah Harris, actors Richard Roxburgh, Maggie Kirkpatrick, Marta Dusseldorp, Bonnie Sveen, Charlie Clausen, Michael Caton, Johnny Ruffo and Ryan Corr, and musical theatre performers Lucy Durack, Simon Burke and Ben Mingay, amongst others.

The Sydney Lyric Theatre season will continue until 26 June, then the production travels to Brisbane’s Lyric Theatre, QPAC from 10 July, then on to Melbourne’s Regent Theatre from 30 August, Perth’s Crown Theatre from November, then the Festival Theatre, Adelaide from January, 2017.

New tickets will be released for the Sydney season of We Will Rock You on Monday 9 May.

We Will Rock You stars Gareth Keegan (Jersey Boys) as Galileo, Erin Clare (Heathers) as Scaramouche, Casey Donovan (The Sapphires) as Killer Queen, Brian Mannix (Uncanny X-Men) as Buddy, Jaz Flowers (Hairspray) as Oz, Thern Reynolds (Rock of Ages) as Brit, and Simon Russell (ABC TV’s Jack Irish) as Khashoggi.

Since 2002 over 16 million theatregoers in 28 countries have seen this production based on the songs of Queen. Ben Elton wrote this hilarious futurist comedy around more than 24 of Queen’s biggest hit songs including We Are The Champions, Radio Ga Ga, I Want To Break Free, Somebody To Love, Killer Queen, Don’t Stop Me Now, Under Pressure, Bohemian Rhapsody, Another One Bites The Dust and of course, We Will Rock You.

The 2016-7 Australian tour is produced by John Frost, Queen Theatrical Productions, Phil McIntyre Entertainment and Tribeca Theatrical Productions.

It’s possible to arrange a ‘meet the cast’ for corporate groups wishing to provide a VIP experience to their guests.

Season details:
Venue: Sydney Lyric Theatre, The Star
Season: To 26 June

Venue: Lyric Theatre, QPAC
Season: From 10 July

Venue: Regent Theatre
Season: From 30 August

Venue: Crown Theatre, Burswood
Season: From November

Venue: Festival Theatre, Adelaide Festival Centre
Season: From January 2017

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required


The A-Z guide for organising events