Top Menu

Australia’s top presenters recognised at National Speakers Association Awards

Certified Speaking Professionals (CSP’s) were the outstanding achievers recognised recently (April 17) at the twentieth annual convention of the National Speakers Association of Australia (NSAA) held on Queensland’s Gold Coast.

As the peak body for professional speakers in Australia. Its members include experts who speak in a variety of industries and disciplines who reach audiences as conference speakers, trainers, facilitators, humourists, motivators and more.

Anne Riches, CSP was awarded the Nevin Award, Terry Hawkins CSP, Educator Award for Excellence, and Catherine De Vrye, CSP received the Keynote Presenter Award for Excellence. Plus 10 professional speakers were newly recognised as Certified Speaking Professionals, the highest possible international qualification and accreditation for professional speakers. Only ten per cent of professional speakers worldwide have received this accolade.

Anne Riches was awarded the Nevin Award at the recent NSAA Awards night

Taking out NSAA’s most esteemed award in 2010, The Nevin Award for outstanding contribution to the association and to the speaking industry was Anne Riches CSP from NSW, who specialises in leadership and change.

Anne in learning that she has earned the utmost respect and admiration from members and the profession for hers acts of sharing, guiding, supporting and inspiring others said, “I am deeply honoured to be recognised for doing what I love to do. My mother always taught me to give back. I thought she spoke rubbish at the time but now I think I am turning into my mother.”

Terry Hawkins, CSP from NSW received the 2010 Educator Award for Excellence (EAE) given annually to a presenter who continues to reach diverse groups with deep content delivered through varied methodology over many years.

“I am extremely honoured to receive this award. For 29 years in this business I have been an avid supporter of education in all forms. To me education that is transferred into action gives people freedom of choice,” said Terry a performance consultant and owner of training company People in Progress.

Catherine De Vrye CSP from NSW, a recognised expert on customer service and motivation was presented with the 2010 Keynote Presenter Award for Excellence (KPAE). This award acknowledges speakers who have the capacity to engage a diverse variety of audiences, captivate them with their style, delivery and humour and deliver a message that conveys their expertise.

Catherine De Vrye from NSW was presented with the 2010 Keynote Presenter Award for Excellence

In accepting her award Catherine said, “This means to me that what I have been doing has helped other people over the years. Our role as speakers is to use words to inspire many into doing deeds that inspire more. Our role off the platform is equally important. I express my appreciation to all as without clients and audiences we are nothing.”

Other successful recipients on the night were the Kerrie Nairn Scholar 2010, Steve Francis from Qld. This scholarship founded in memory of NSAA member Kerrie Nairn, is designed to fund the development of knowledge and expertise in public speaking. The NSAA Meeting Partner of the Year 2010 was awarded to Christine Swanson of SA for the Glitz and Hammer Ball in support of the Cancer Council.

For more information on the NSAA click here.